The NCCEAPA-NE District met at the NC Cooperative Extension-Dare County Center on Friday, March 24, 2023. The meeting was called to order at 10:25 am.

President Sherry Lynn called the meeting to order.

Dare County 4-H Agent, Ruth Perkins welcomed us to Dare County.

Gail Spiewak performed roll call. Those attending were:

Beaufort:2

Bertie:1

Camden: 1

Chowan: 2

Dare: 1

Edgecombe:1

Franklin:2

Gates: 1

Halifax:1

Hertford: 1

Martin: 2

Pasquotank: 1

Pitt:1

Tyrrell:1

Wake: 4

Washington: 1

Becky Castello presented the parliamentary review. A quorum was present for the purpose of doing business.

Agenda was presented. Gail Spieawak made a motion to approve the agenda; Cindy Davis seconded. Motion carried.

Recognition of new secretaries/guest.
 Demonica Hicks - Wake County
 Anna Martin - Currituck County
 Susan Lenda - Currituck County

Joy Pierce provide our thought for the day. "If the plan doesn't work, change the plan. Never change the goal."

Fall meeting minutes were addressed. B.J. Okleshen made a motion to approve the minutes; Joy Pierce seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Christy Boyce presented our financial/treasurer report.

## **Committee Reports**

Membership: Sam Jefferson

> Our membership is currently at 29 active member, 19 honorary members and 27 TERSSA members. New members in 2022 were Cynthia Davis-Bertie County, Morgan Cherry- Beaufort County, Annie Poythress-

- Warren County, Jeanine Gaul-Wake County, Karla Frizzelle-Wake County.
- If anyone is interested in nominating someone for honorary membership, they should complete the Honorary Member form by August 1. The form can be found on our association website under History and Honorary Membership. Sheila Ange's honorary membership application was lost in the shuffle Christie Bell is taking care of it.

# Nominating:

BJ Okleshen-No report at this time.

# **Professional Improvement**

Since we didn't have any nominations for the 2022 Administrative Professional of the Year awards we are going to hold it over until our Fall Meeting and Joy will be sending out the award information again and Sherry will share with the CED's.

# **New NCCEAPA Members**

Cindy Davis -Bertie Anna Martin- Currituck Courtney Denny-Martin

### Nominating:

BJ Okleshen, Installations of offices at the end of the meeting.

Professional Improvement Joy Pierce

The 2023 Professional Development Scholarship applications are due August 1, 2023.

All completed Herter O'Neal applications have been collected and are currently being judge. I will say that after a slow start we had 13 turned in

The selection of the state winner for the Herter O'Neal Scholarship will begin in the coming weeks.

Unfortunately, we didn't receive any nominations for the 2022 Administrative Professional of the Year Award.

Please take advantage of all professional development opportunities including webinars, seminars, trainings, classes and any other educational opportunities

Public Relations: Gail Spiewak No report at this time.

Reflections:
Michelle Haney
No Report at this time

Rules & Bylaws: Brigette Perry No Report at this time

Other Reports:

#### **NCCEAPA**

Christie Bell, NCCEAPA President

The 2023 NCCEAPA State Conference will be held in Wilmington at the Hotel Ballast from Tuesday. September 19 through Friday, September 22. Information regarding costs for the conference and general agenda was sent to the state membership list on March 9, to help aid in planning and budgeting. The registration will be open Tuesday afternoon and Wednesday morning. The first conference meeting for everyone will begin Wednesday morning.

#### **TERSSA**

**Becky Castello** 

TERSSA Executive Board for 2023-Faye Wilson, OH-President, Trudi Neubeck, TN-President Elect, BJ Okleshen, NC-Membership Secretary, Cathy James, NC-Treasurer, Karen Bixler, AL-Recording Secretary, Rhonda Mahaney, OH-Webmaster, Christine Barrier, NC-Annalist, Becky Castello, NC-Past President.

Currently TERSSA has 183 active members in 10 States-Alabama-2, Kentucky-0, Louisiana-4, Maine-3, North Carolina85, Ohio-65, South Carolina-1, Tennessee-12, Virginia-7 Make plans to join us in Ohio on October 17-20, 2023 in Columbus, OH.

For the latest information about TERSSA check out our website at terssa.org.

NCJCEP Christie Bell The last NCJCEP meeting was help via zoom on January 30, 2023, from 10-10:30 am. It was reintegrated by Susan Kelly that she wished for NCJCEP to be the sounding board for COT (County Operations Team).

She gave some ideas of what that could possible and potentially look like:

- Beta testing a new website for feedback
- Bringing ideas and concerns to the COT table
- Meeting with Administration more regularly
- Helping with the Extension State Conference by recommending classes and hands on help at the conference

Also, she went over the 2022 review and collection of information collected at the November 30 meeting, that consists of: what was going well, challenges, suggestions and moving forward.

The 2022 review will be sent out statewide as soon as some corrections to it have been made.

### Old Business:

We decided on a wine basket raffle for our state meeting fundraising project and each county is responsible for an item and also to sell a minimum of 25 tickets

BJ addressed to the group that 4-H agents should support the event Dock of the Bay with donations in that each year they give \$525.00 scholarships to support 4-H camp.

### **Announcements:**

BJ submitted nomination of Becky to fill Parliamentarian position for the coming year.

Christie Bell presented installation of new officers.

Parliamentarian - Becky Castello Advisor - Sherry Lynn Treasurer - Christy Boyce Secretary - Amy Twiddy 1st Vice President - Karla Frizelle 2nd Vice President - Brenda Collier President - Joy Pierce

### Lunch

Gloria Morning, Edgecombe County Center, invited the group to the fall meeting to be held on October 27, 2023.

Sherry Lynn, president motioned to adjourn, BJ seconded the motion. Motion carried and meeting was adjourned.