Eighth Annual Meeting of the North Carolina Association of Agricultural Extension Secretaries

September 4, 1981

The Eighth Annual State Meeting of the North Carolina Association of Agricultural Extension Secretaries held September 4, 1981 at the Green Park Inn, Blowing Rock, NC.

The meeting was called to order by President Margaret Reynolds at 10 a.m.

President Reynolds was presented a plaque from the Gaston County Extension Staff by Jane Ellington in appreciation for her support of the Extension Program and for serving as president of the Association.

The invocation was given by Rev. Ken Clapp, Director, Blowing Rock Assembly Grounds.

Dr. Ed Yancey, Southeastern District Extension Chairman, gave the welcome.

Recognition of special guests was made by Betty Harrington, Southeastern District President. They were: Dr. & Mrs. T. C. Blalock; Count Extension Chairmen: Hoover Royals, Wallace Flynt, and Talmadge Baker; Rev. Ken Clapp; Mark Dearmon; Dr. and Mrs. Ed Yancey; Lou Robinson and Janice Rogers; and secretaries from South Carolina.

Linda Buck, Secretary, called the roll by districts. They were: Northeastern, 2 – North Central, 13 – Northwestern, 16 – Southwestern, 24 – Southeastern, 18 – and Western, 13.

Jane Ellington, Gaston County, introduced Mark Dearmon, N.C. State University. Mark showed an interesting presentation entitled, "The Billion Dollar Discovery." Jane then introduced Dr. Cratis Williams, Appalachian State University. Dr. Williams spoke on "Appalachian Language and Culture."

Announcements were made by President Reynolds. The meeting recessed for lunch at 11:45 a.m.

The meeting reconvened at 1:30 p.m. Motion was made, seconded, and passed that we dispense with the reading of the minutes since everyone had received a copy and no changes need to be made.

Joy Marshall, Treasurer, reported a balance of \$2,231.62. She reported that \$339.57 of the balance does not belong to the Association funds This amount is funds left from Chairman/Secretaries Meeting held in Raleigh in 1980.

Frances O'Neal asked the secretaries from South Carolina to give a brief report on their association. South Carolina was organized on the state level instead of district level. They have

been organized for three years. The two secretaries attended a meeting on July 28 and 29 in Georgia where they are trying to help form an association and hopefully in the near future, regional meeting can be held.

President Reynolds reminded everyone to send a "thank you" to administration for granting us "time" to attend our association meetings. Special thanks were given to Gwen Huddleston for preparing our State Newsletter.

New Business:

- 1. Motion made by Miranda Pope and seconded by Luba Smith that Frances O'Neal, retired secretary from Catawba County be made and honorary member of our association. The motion passed.
- 2. The motion was made, seconded, and passed that our scholarship be names "Herter-O'Neal Scholarship" in honor of Edith Herter and Frances O'Neal, co-sponsors of getting our association organized.
- 3. Cathy Harris announced the recipient of the scholarship award for 1981: Miss Rita Louise Purdie of Lillington. Northeastern District will be in charge of the scholarship for 1982.

Committee Reports:

1.	FINANCE COMMITTEE – Miranda Pope, Chairman		
	Postage	\$80.00	
	Speaker	100.00	
	Host County Expenses	175.00	
	Telephone	50.00	
	Scholarship	*300.00	
	Subsistence for State Officers & Advisor to attend		
	Planning Session & State Meeting	180.00	
	Travel for State Officers & Advisor to attend		
	Planning Session & State Meeting (20 cents/mile)	300.00	
	Miscellaneous	50.00	
			\$1,235.00

^{*}This includes amounts contributed by districts toward scholarship.

- 2. HOSPITALITY Nancy Payne, Chairman Reported on hospitality shown throughout the meeting.
- 3. PUBLIC RELATIONS Annie Hall stated that you should send news to the state chairman and encouraged all to do so.

- 4. PROFESSIONAL IMPROVEMENT No report.
- 5. GOALS AND AIMS No report.
- 6. RULES & BYLAWS No report.
- 7. MEMBERSHIP Earla Moore, Chairman
 - a. It was stated that every district assumes the responsibility of trying to get every county to become members. Make a special effort to get new members involved.
 - b. Keep the secretaries informed of what we are doing and what we have accomplished as an association.

Cynthia Potter, 1st Vice President, presented the "Executive Board Award" to Mariah McPherson, Orange County.

Nominating Committee Chairman, Patsy Sykes presented the following slate of officers for 1982:

```
President – Cynthia Potter (Duplin – SE)

1<sup>st</sup> V. Pres. – Cathy Harris (Montgomery – SC)

2<sup>nd</sup> C. Pres. – Lillian Briggs (Gates – NE)

Secretary – Lou Lakie (Davie – NW)

Treasurer – Cleo Greer (Poke – W)
```

The motion was made, seconded, and passed that we accept the slate of officers as presented for 1982.

The installation of officers was given by Betty Penland, NCAAES State Advisor.

Invitation for the 9th Annual State Meeting was issued by the Southeastern District.

Discussion was held on the Jewelry Award to be presented to Secretaries by administration. Jane Ellington made announcement concerning those eligible for this award this year.

Cathy Harris gave out door prizes.

The meeting adjourned at 2:45 p.m.

Respectively submitted, Linda Buck, Secretary NCAAES, 1981