Minutes - Executive Board Meeting North Carolina Association of Agricultural Extension Secretaries

Ramada Inn West Asheville, NC September 26, 1985 -- 4:30 p.m.

The Executive Board of the North Carolina Association of Agricultural Extension Secretaries met at 4:30 p.m. at the Ramada Inn West in Asheville, with Mariah McPherson, president, presiding.

Mariah stressed the importance of "working together as a team." She thanked the board for their cooperation and stated that we need to progress instead of regress.

Linda Creech, treasurer, talked about 1986 proposed budget and indicated that we would need to increase dues from \$6 to \$10 if we were going to be able to meet the budget needs. She stated that the amount included in the 1985 budget for postage had already been exceeded and many of the mailings, etc., had been paid for by individuals or counties.

Mariah reported that Linda McMullen was going to print the handbook for cost of paper; that we would have to pay for printing the covers. Several logos had been submitted and would be presented at the annual meeting of the membership to decide which one we would adopt.

Nancy Payne reported that the recipient of the 1985 NCAAES Scholarship was Tina Lane Byerly from Davidson County (Northwestern District). The scholarship will go to the Southwestern District in 1986.

Mariah reported that we have five guests from South Carolina attending the meeting. She also reported that Dr. Dew could not attend the meeting due to a conflict in vacation. He asked that the money that remained in his special fund be used by the association in any way that it saw fit.

Mariah said that five out of six districts had approved the purchase of a tape recorder and four approved buying the camera. She felt that this money could be used toward these items.

Allene Cuthbertson, chairman of the nominating committee, reported that after she had sent ballots to her committee twice, there still existed a tie for secretary. She asked that the executive board vote to break this tie. The following slate will be presented to the membership for approval:

- President, Sandra Ballard, Buncombe County
- 1st vice president, Nancy Payne, Alexander County
- 2nd vice president, Katy Ethridge, Onslow County
- Secretary, Helen Miller, Orange County
- Treasurer, Elizabeth Lassiter, Caswell County.

Respectfully submitted:

Betty J. Cox, Secretary NCAAES - 1985